Group Members


    simonsProf. Benjamin Simons FMedSci FRS
    Royal Society EP Abraham Research Professor and Herchel Smith Professor of Physics
    Theoretical and experimental research on developmental and cancer biology

    agranovDr Tal Agranov
    PDRA 2023-
    Theoretical research on mechanisms of biological memory and biomolecular condensate formation

    chatzeliDr Lemonia Chatzeli
    PDRA 2017-, former Herchel Smith Post-doctoral Fellow 2019-2022
    Experimental research on tumour models of stomach corpus and salivary gland development

    hochstetterJoel Hochstetter
    PhD student 2021-
    Non-equilibrium statistical physics of cellular systems and stem cell fate in squamous epithelia

    megumiMegumi Inoue
    PhD Student 2020-; based at INSERM and Institut de la Vision and co-supervised by Alain Chedotal)
    Image segmentation and biology of human foetal lung and other tissue types

    lobaskinDr Ivan Lobaskin
    PDRA 2023-
    Theoretical research on branching morphogensis in lung and other branched organs

    melamedDr Shay Melamed
    Herchel Smith Postdoctoral Fellow 2024-
    Experimental research on ECM in skin epidermis and oesophagus

    neervanDr Sanne van Neerven
    PDRA 2022-, Rubicon Fellow
    Experimental research on tumour development of the intestinal epithelium

    weijerDr Laurien van de Weijer
    PDRA 2023-
    Experimental research on tumour development of colonic epithelium

    yinYanbo Yin
    PhD Student 2020-
    Experimental research on development and maintenance of the intestinal epithelium

    zijlDr Sebastiaan Zijl
    PDRA 2024-
    Experimental research on mechanims of stem cell fate in mouse and human skin epidermis


  1. Prof. James Acton (PhD student 2001-05; currently Jessica T. Mathews Chair, Co-Director, Nuclear Policy Program and senior fellow at Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Washington DC, USA)
  2. Dr Can Aztekin (PhD student 2019-20 joint with Jerome Julien and John Gurdon; currently Group Leader, École Polytechnique Fédérale (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland)
  3. Prof. Dr Alexander Altland (PDRA 1996-97; currently Professor, Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of Cologne, Germany)
  4. Dr Roberta Azzarelli (PDRA 2016-19; currently Senior Research Associate at Cambridge Stem Cell Institute)
  5. Dr Joe Bhaseen (PDRA 2007-12; currently Reader, Head of Theory and Simulation of Condensed Matter Group, Department of Physics, King's College London)
  6. Prof. Ignacio Bordeu (PDRA 2019-22; currently Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, University of Chile)
  7. Dr Gareth Conduit (PhD student 2007-09; currently Royal Society URF, Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge and co-founder of Intellegens)
  8. Dr Catherine Dabrowska (PhD student 2017-21, supervised jointly with Joo-Hyeon Lee; currently trainee Patent Attorney, Elkington and Fife)
  9. Dr Frances England (PhD Student 2019-2023, supervised jointly with Joo-Hyeon Lee; currently Graduate-Entry Medical Student at University of Oxford)
  10. Dr Adrien Hallou (PDRA 2017-2023, Herchel Smith Post-doctoral Fellow 2020-2023, and Junior Research Fellow, Darwin College; currently Group Leader at Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology, University of Oxford)
  11. Dr Seungmin Han (PDRA 2016-2022, former Human Frontiers Science Program Postdoctoral Research Fellow; currently at Novo Nordisk Research Centre Oxford)
  12. Prof. Edouard Hannezo (PDRA 2014-16, Trinity College JRF and Sir Henry Wellcome Fellow; currently Assistant Professor, Institute of Science and Technology, Vienna, Austria)
  13. Dr Juergen Fink (PhD student 2013-16 and PDRA 2016-17, supervised jointly with Bon-Kyoung Koo; currently Chief Operating Officer and co-founder of Obrizum Group Limited)
  14. Dr Philip Greulich (PDRA 2013-16; currently Lecturer, Department of Mathematical Sciences, University of Southampton)
  15. Dr Chris Hindley (PDRA 2014-16; currently Research Associate in the Translational Biology group of Astex Pharmaceuticals)
  16. Dr Tom Hiscock (PDRA 2017-20 and Independent EMBO Postdoctoral Research Fellow; currently Lecturer at Institute of Medical Sciences, University of Aberdeen)
  17. Dr Arkady Izyumov (PhD student 1996-99, Trinity College Scholarship)
  18. Dr David Jörg (PDRA 2015-18; currently Research Scientist at Fresenius Medical Care, Bad Homburg, Germany)
  19. Dr Omer Karin (PDRA 2021-22; currently Lecturer, Department of Mathematics, Imperial College, London)
  20. Prof. Allon Klein (PhD student 2007-09; currently Associate Professor of Systems Biology, Department of Systems Biology, Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA)
  21. Dr Dmitry Kovrizhin (PDRA 2013-14; currently EPSRC Advanced Research Fellow, Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics, University of Oxford)
  22. Prof. Teresa Krieger (PhD student 2012-15 jointly supervised with Rick Livesey; currently Assistant Professor of Translational Molecular Oncology at Charite Universitatsmedizin, Berlin Institute of Health)
  23. Dr Daniel Kunz (PhD student 2017-22, supervised jointly with Sarah Teichmann; currently PDRA with John Marioni, EMBL EBI)
  24. Prof. Austen Lamacraft (PhD student 1999-2002; currently Professor, Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge)
  25. Dr Yuting Li (PDRA 2021-2023; current PDRA at Institute of Science and Technology, Vienna)
  26. Giovanna Mantica (Rotation student 2021; currently PhD student at Cambridge Stem Cell Institute)
  27. Prof. Francesca Maria Marchetti (PhD student 2000-02 and PDRA 2002-06; currently Associate Professor at the Department of the Theory of Condensed Matter, Universdad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain)
  28. Dr Crystal McClain (PDRA 2013-16; Alpine Special Treatment Center Inc., California, USA)
  29. Dr Jamie McGinn (PDRA 2020-22; currently staff scientist at Altos labs)
  30. Dr Samuel Melton (visiting student 2014; currently Physics of Living Systems Fellow at MIT, USA)
  31. Prof. Julia Meyer (visiting student 2000-01; currently Professor, Universite Grenoble-Alpes, Grenoble, France)
  32. Dr Rob Moir (PhD student 1999-03, JJ Thomson Studentship; currently Scientific Consultant, Innovia Technology, Cambridge)
  33. Dr Sebastian Müller (PDRA 2006-07; currently Senior Lecturer, School of Mathematics, University of Bristol)
  34. Dr Joaquin de Navascues (PDRA 2011-12; currently Lecturer, School of Life Sciences, University of Essex)
  35. Dr Charles R. Offer (PhD student 1997-01, JJ Thomson Studentship; Thales Group, Reading UK)
  36. Prof. Steffen Rulands (PDRA 2013-16 and Herchel Smith Fellow; currently Professor at Ludwig-Maximilians Universität München (LMU))
  37. Dr Hayden Selvadurai (PDRA 2017-18; currently Director, Corporate Development, EnaraBio)
  38. Dr Alex Silver (PhD student 2007-11)
  39. Dr Igor Smolyarenko (PDRA 1997-03; currently Senior Lecturer, Department of Mathematics, University of Brunel)
  40. Dr Axel Steuwer (MPhil student 1996-97; currently Administrative Director for Research Support Services, University of Malta)
  41. Dr Magdalena Sznurkowska (PhD student and PDRA 2017-18 with Anna Philpott; currently EMBO Fellow at Aceto lab, ETH, Zurich, Switzerland)
  42. Dr Damian Taras-Semchuk (PhD student 1994-98; former Global Lead, Structured Credit Modelling at Credit Suisse)
  43. Dr Julia Tischler (PDRA 2015-17 joint with Azim Surani; currently Laboratory of Stem Cell Bioengineering, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland)
  44. Prof. Min Kyu Yum (PDRA 2017-22; currently Assistant Professor, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  45. Dr Gen Zhang (PhD student 2009-15; currently Quant Research, G-Research)